A monitor riser is the simplest way to lift a screen: a platform that sits on the desk, raises the monitor by a few inches and leaves a gap underneath for a keyboard, papers or a laptop. There is nothing to clamp or drill, and nothing to tension.
We compared six monitor risers, from fixed steel platforms to stands with three height settings and built-in drawers. We read the Amazon listing for each linked item, and the manufacturer’s page where we had one, for the figures that decide fit: platform size, height or height settings, the storage space underneath, the stated load limit and the warranty.
How We Chose These Monitor Risers
DeskProven is research-led. We do not buy, assemble or load-test the risers in this guide. We built this guide from manufacturer product pages, retailer listings and editorial coverage, rather than press releases or star ratings. Where a figure wasn’t published in the sources we read, we say so instead of guessing. This guide covers comfort, fit and desk space only; we do not make posture or health claims. Bands reflect observed selling prices at our last review. Offers change; check the listing.
Monitor Riser Fit Table
Start with the stated load limit and the platform size: your monitor’s base has to sit fully on the platform, and the monitor’s weight with its stand has to stay inside the limit. “Not stated in our sources” means no figure appeared in the manufacturer pages and listings we read; “Not confirmed” means a figure appeared but was unlabeled or conflicting. It may be published elsewhere, so confirm it on the listing. “Amazon listing” marks a figure taken from the retailer listing for the linked item, which is a secondary source; the manufacturer’s own page is the primary one.
| Product | Height type | Platform (L × W) | Height or settings | Storage underneath | Stated load limit | Material | Warranty | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HUANUO HNLL2 | Fixed | 14.57 × 9.25 in | 3.94 in | Open space | 44 lbs | Powder-coated perforated steel | 5-year (Amazon listing) | <$50 |
| Mind Reader Monitor Stand, set of 2 | Fixed | 14.5 × 11.25 in (each) | 4.25 in | Open space | 44 lbs (each) | Open-grid metal | Listing’s warranty field reads “No warranty” | <$50 |
| HUANUO HNLL3 | 3 settings | Not confirmed: the listing’s dimensions (15.4 × 9.8 × 1.3 in) conflict with its feature bullets | 3.94 / 4.72 / 5.51 in (Amazon listing) | 12.40 × 7.09 in (Amazon listing) | 44 lbs | Not confirmed: steel per the listing’s feature bullets; its details row says polycarbonate (PC) and rubber | 2-year (Amazon listing) | <$50 |
| Kensington SmartFit K52785WW | Height-adjustable (settings not stated in our sources) | Not confirmed (listing gives item dimensions 9 × 11.5 × 3 in, not labeled as platform size) | Not confirmed | Open space | 40 lbs; screens up to 21 in | Wood, per the Amazon listing (not stated on Kensington’s page we read) | 24 months (Amazon listing) | <$50 |
| Kensington SmartFit Monitor Stand with Drawer | 3 settings | Not confirmed (listing gives item dimensions 22.7 × 9.3 × 3 in, not labeled as platform size) | 70 / 100 / 130 mm (2.76 / 3.94 / 5.12 in) | Drawer, 12.4 × 8.3 × 1.6 in | 33 lbs; screens up to 30 in | Plastic | 2-year | $50–120 |
| Simple Houseware Monitor Stand Riser with Organizer Drawer | Fixed | 11.5 in deep; width listed as both 20.24 in and 16.75 in | 5.8 in | Sliding drawer plus two side compartments each side | Not stated in our sources | Metal | Not stated in our sources | <$50 |
Sources by row: HUANUO HNLL2: huanuo.com and the Amazon listing. Mind Reader and Simple Houseware: the Amazon listing for the linked item. HUANUO HNLL3: the Amazon listing, with witchflow.com (an editorial review site, a secondary source) for the same 3.94–5.51 in range, 44-lb limit and roughly 12.4 × 7 in storage space. Kensington K52785WW: Kensington’s product page and the Amazon listing. Kensington with Drawer: Kensington’s product page and the Amazon listing. Figures marked “Amazon listing” come from the seller’s listing for the exact linked item, read in October 2026; we treat a retailer listing as a secondary source.
Fit Facts: Will It Fit Your Desk and Keyboard?
Fit facts: a riser’s height figure is its overall height, platform included, so the space underneath is a little less than the number in the table; HUANUO’s Amazon listing (a secondary source), for example, states 12.40 × 7.09 in of storage space under the HNLL3 rather than a clearance height. If you plan to slide a keyboard under the platform, compare your keyboard’s width and depth with that area before you buy. The listing doesn’t state the clearance height under the platform, so allow for the platform’s thickness when you check your keyboard’s height. Check your monitor’s base against the platform dimensions too: on the smaller platforms here (14.5–14.57 in long), a wide or V-shaped base may overhang. Several listings describe non-slip or rubber feet (HUANUO HNLL2 and HNLL3, Mind Reader), which matters on a finished wood desk. None of the listings we read states compatibility with an under-desk keyboard tray either way.
Transparency first: This guide contains affiliate links. If we’re enrolled in an affiliate program, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you — it never affects how we research or rank. Read our full affiliate disclosure policy.
Fixed-Height Monitor Risers
1. HUANUO HNLL2 Monitor Riser
What it is: A fixed steel platform, 14.57 × 9.25 in, that HUANUO states raises the monitor by 3.94 in and holds up to 44 lbs. The plate is powder-coated and perforated for airflow, and HUANUO’s Amazon listing (a secondary source) describes room underneath for papers, a cable box or a full-size keyboard. The listing gives a 5-year warranty.
Best for: A single monitor or laptop that needs a modest, fixed lift and a clear shelf underneath.
Choose this if: about 4 in of lift suits your desk and chair, and your monitor’s base fits a 14.57 × 9.25 in platform.
2. Mind Reader Ventilated Monitor Stand (Set of 2)
What it is: Two open-grid metal stands, each 14.5 × 11.25 in and 4.25 in tall, each rated by the Amazon listing (a secondary source) to hold up to 44 lbs, with non-slip feet. The listing’s warranty field reads “No warranty”, so check the seller’s terms if that matters to you.
Best for: Two-screen desks that want one stand under each monitor, or a monitor plus a laptop or printer at matching heights.
Choose this if: you want two identical fixed stands at 4.25 in rather than one wide platform.
Adjustable-Height Monitor Risers
3. HUANUO HNLL3 Adjustable Monitor Stand
What it is: A stand the listing’s feature bullets describe as powder-coated, ventilated steel (its details row says polycarbonate and rubber), with three height settings, 3.94, 4.72 and 5.51 in, chosen with buttons on the legs (Amazon listing, a secondary source). The listing states a 44-lb limit, 12.40 × 7.09 in of storage space underneath, anti-slip rubber pads and a 2-year warranty, and says assembly needs no tools.
Best for: Buyers who aren’t sure which height will suit them and want a cheap way to try three.
Choose this if: a range of roughly 4 to 5.5 in covers the height you want and your keyboard’s footprint fits a 12.40 × 7.09 in area (the listing gives no clearance height).
4. Kensington SmartFit Monitor Stand (K52785WW)
What it is: A height-adjustable platform that Kensington rates for standard and widescreen monitors up to 40 lbs and up to 21 in, with an open area underneath for accessories. It uses Kensington’s color-coded SmartFit chart to pick a height setting; we couldn’t confirm the number of settings or the heights from the sources we read. The Amazon listing (a secondary source) gives a 24-month warranty.
Best for: Smaller monitors, up to 21 in, where you want some height adjustment from an office-accessory brand.
Choose this if: your screen is 21 in or smaller. For a 24 in or larger monitor, look at the next pick or the HUANUO stands instead.
5. Kensington SmartFit Monitor Stand with Drawer (K55725WW)
What it is: A plastic stand with three height positions, 70, 100 and 130 mm (2.76, 3.94 and 5.12 in), and an A4-size drawer measuring 12.4 × 8.3 × 1.6 in. Kensington states it supports monitors, iMacs and all-in-one PCs up to 30 in and 33 lbs, with a 2-year warranty.
Best for: Desks that need both a height choice and a closed drawer for pens, chargers and sticky notes.
Choose this if: you want the widest stated height range in this guide (2.76 to 5.12 in, our conversion of Kensington’s three positions) and your monitor is 30 in or smaller and 33 lbs or lighter. The drawer takes up space a keyboard might otherwise use.
Monitor Risers With Built-In Storage
6. Simple Houseware Metal Monitor Stand Riser with Organizer Drawer
What it is: A fixed metal riser, 5.8 in tall and 11.5 in deep, with a sliding letter-size drawer and two compartments on each side for a tablet, phone, pens or a calculator. The current Amazon listing (a secondary source) gives its width as 20.24 in in its details table and 16.75 in in its description, so measure your space before buying. No load limit or warranty was stated in our sources.
Best for: Small desks where the riser has to double as the main organizer.
Choose this if: you want a drawer plus side compartments in one riser and are happy with a fixed 5.8 in height. We found no load limit in the sources we read, so it’s the pick to skip for a heavy monitor.
What We Left Out
The Amazon Basics Adjustable Monitor Stand showed as currently unavailable on Amazon for a New York delivery address when we checked in October 2026. We found no Grovemade listing on Amazon when we searched in October 2026, and Grovemade’s own store showed the Walnut Monitor Stand as sold out at the same check. Songmics’ bamboo monitor stand page returned an error when we checked in October 2026, and we found no Amazon listing for it. We also left out the WALI three-height stand, a FITUEYES adjustable riser and the Kensington SmartFit Monitor Stand Plus, because their dimensions and load limits weren’t in our sources.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I get a monitor riser or a monitor arm?
A riser sits on the desk, needs no clamp or drilling and has no tension to set, but it gives one fixed height or a few preset ones and keeps the monitor’s own stand on the desk. An arm frees the desk surface and adjusts freely, but it needs a desk edge or grommet hole it can mount to. If you want free adjustment, see our Best Monitor Arms 2026 guide.
Will my keyboard fit under a monitor riser?
Compare your keyboard with the space under the platform, not just the riser’s overall height, because the platform’s own thickness sits inside that figure. Of the six risers here, only the HUANUO HNLL3’s Amazon listing (a secondary source) states its storage space in the sources we read (12.40 × 7.09 in), and the Kensington with Drawer states its drawer size (12.4 × 8.3 × 1.6 in). For the rest, check the listing or measure.
Can a monitor riser hold two monitors?
Only if both bases fit on the platform and their combined weight stays inside the stated limit. None of the listings we read describes dual-monitor use. The Mind Reader set gives you two separate stands, one per screen. For two screens on one mount, see our Best Dual Monitor Arms 2026 guide.
Is a fixed or adjustable-height riser better?
A fixed riser has no height mechanism and suits you if its one height already works with your desk and chair. A riser with preset settings, such as the HUANUO HNLL3 or Kensington with Drawer, lets you change height later, for example after a new chair or monitor, but only between its presets.
Do monitor risers work with a keyboard tray?
None of the listings we read states keyboard-tray compatibility either way. A keyboard tray mounts under the desk and a riser sits on top of it, so the two don’t share a surface; if you also store a keyboard under the riser, check that it clears the riser’s legs or drawer. Our Best Keyboard Trays 2026 guide covers tray fit.
Related Guides
See how risers compare with the other add-ons in our Standing Desk Accessories guide, or browse the full Monitor Arms & Mounts category.